Literary Trivia

To spice up our pictures of ruins in Ephesus and Pergamon, I thought we could play Greco Roman themed literary trivia. Each question is worth 3 points: speaker(s)/author/title. I am trusting you not to cheat via the interwebs. Team play okay. Yes, there will be a prize. Ready?

1. “O pardon me, thou bleeding piece of earth, that I am gentle and meek with these butchers!”

2. “Tell me, O Muse, of that ingenious hero who traveled far and wide after he had sacked the famous town of Troy.”

3. “Great is Artemis of the Ephesians!”

 

4. “All Gaul is divided into three parts, of which the Belgians inhabit one, the Aquatanians another, and those who in their own language are called Celts and in ours are called Gauls inhabit the third.” (hint: this quote was provided by Kate who is studying Latin).

Put your answer in the comment section or email them to me at borareed [at] gmail.com. Partial credit possible. Game ends by noon on January 7 Istanbul time (10:00pm PDT). Ties will be decided either with tiebreaker question (if I can think of one) or by random drawing. Let the games begin!

 

3 thoughts on “Literary Trivia

  1. Hmm.

    1 is definitely Julius Caeser (Shakespeare, I mean)

    3 is definitely Luke

    I’m not that great on the ancients, but let’s see. I’ll make some guesses.

    2 has got to be Homer, right? Never read it. But what else…

    and 4… forget it. I don’t know. I don’t even know how to guess! Some really old bloke who speaks Latin, clearly. Maybe Kate’s Latin teacher.

  2. Your game is too nerdy, even for me! (Actually, I’m just sad not to know the quotes). Nice format for the Charm/Alarm post below. 🙂

  3. dana is mostly correct about #3 — luke is the author, but the book is acts of the apostles. the speakers are the ephesians, rioting at the perceived insult to artemis.

    can’t do the others.

Leave a comment